In Miami-Dade County, 17 percent of 1.2 million registered voters cast a ballot on Tuesday. Miami-Dade has the largest number of registered voters in Florida. According to the Miami-Dade County Elections website, Marco Rubio received about 79,000 (90 percent) of the GOP votes in Miami-Dade in the Republican U.S. Senate primary.

Kendrick Meek, with about 66,500 votes (70 percent) in the Democratic U.S. Senate primary, defeated Jeff Greene. Rubio and Meek will now face Republican-turned-independent Charlie Crist.

Democratic gubernatorial candidate Alex Sink received 74 percent of the vote in the primary, almost 60,000 votes.

In Miami-Dade, Rick Scott, who won the GOP statewide primary for governor, received 32 percent of the votes, a little over 28,000 votes, while Attorney General Bill McCollum received 61 percent of the Miami-Dade vote.

In the primary for the attorney general’s office, Democrat Dan Gelber received almost 60,000 votes and Republican Pam Bondi 27,000 votes. They will face each other in the November general elections.

State Sen. Frederica Wilson won the nine-candidate Democratic primary to fill the District 17 seat vacated by Kendrick Meek.

Republican David Rivera won the GOP primary while Joe Garcia won the Democratic primary. They will face each other in November to fill the U.S. Congressional District 25 seat vacated by Republican Mario-Diaz Balart to take the District 21 seat vacated by his brother, Republican Lincoln Diaz-Balart.

In the past elections, Garcia lost in a tight result to Mario Diaz-Balart.

In the County Commission election the incumbents Jose “Pepe” Diaz, R-District 12, and Javier Souto, R-District 10, won with over 70 percent of the vote.

County Commissioner Dorin Rolle, D-District 2, will face Jean Monestime in a November runoff election.

Eugen Flinn, Palmetto Bay Mayor, got more votes to replace Commissioner Katie Sorenson, D-District 8. He will face second-place Lynda Bell, Mayor of Homestead, in a runoff election in November.

You May Also Like