There are a number of professional sports teams in Florida. In fact, some of the most well-known and popular teams in the country are located in this state. If you’re a fan of professional sports or Florida sports betting, then you’ll definitely want to check out at least one of these teams!

Miami Dolphins

Miami Dolphins

Founded in 1966, the Miami Dolphins are a professional gridiron football team based in Florida. They compete in the American Football Conference (AFC) of the National Football League (NFL). Their headquarters is in Davie, Florida, and their training facility is in Miami Gardens.

During the 1990s, the Dolphins were considered one of the best teams in the league. They won 10 games in four of five seasons, including an upset win over the San Diego Chargers (23-21). They also reached the playoffs twice.

The Dolphins are the oldest NFL team in the Deep South. They are also one of only seven teams to have won back-to-back Super Bowls. The team has also won five conference titles. They are currently coached by Don Shula, who has had a successful NFL coaching career.

Tampa Bay Buccaneers

During the first two decades of its existence, the Tampa Bay Buccaneers won 87 games and had five first-team All-Pro selections. Tampa Bay was the first major sports team in the city.

The Bucs re-opened Raymond James Stadium and sported a new logo. They also unveiled a new color palette: red, black, orange, and pewter.

The Bucs won their first Super Bowl in 2003 against the Oakland Raiders (48-21). They also won the NFC South Division title four times between 2002 and 2007. They also won a championship in 2021 with the help of their highly efficient offense and defense.

Miami Marlins

Miami Marlins

Located in Little Havana, Miami, Florida, the Miami Marlins are a professional baseball team. They are part of Major League Baseball’s National League. The team is owned by H. Wayne Huizenga. The team has won two World Series titles. In 2003, they beat the New York Yankees in six games to win the World Series. The team has also won two NL pennants.

Tampa Bay Rays

Originally known as the slight controversially-named Tampa Bay Devil Rays, the team changed their name to the Tampa Bay Rays after the 2007 season. Their colors became navy and Columbia blue with a touch of gold.

In 2008, the Rays made their first trip to the World Series and won the American League pennant. They went on to beat the Boston Red Sox in seven games.

They also drew the most attention for the Rays Cowbell, a promotional item that has become a staple of home games. The Rays sell these cowbells to fans throughout the year and give them away for free during home games.

They have won three divisional titles in the American League, as well as two World Series appearances.

Jacksonville Jaguars

Jacksonville Jaguars

Founded in 1993, the Jacksonville Jaguars are a professional sports team based in Florida. The team competes in the American Football Conference (AFC) of the National Football League (NFL). It is owned by Pakistani-born American businessman Shahid Kahn.

The Jaguars have made the playoffs seven times in their history. The team finished in last place in the AFC in 2012 with a 2-14 record. In 2017, the team won 10 games and clinched a spot in the AFC playoffs. However, the Jaguars lost to the Tennessee Titans in the AFC championship game.


Florida is home to some of the best great sports teams in the country. From the Miami Dolphins, Tampa Bay Buccaneers, and Miami Marlins to the Jacksonville Jaguars and Tampa Bay Rays, there’s something for everyone. Whether you’re a wild fan or just looking for a good game to watch, these teams have you covered.

You May Also Like