Three seasoned state legislators were sworn in as Hillsborough County commissioners Tuesday, beginning a new era for a board mired in controversy in recent months.

Former state lawmakers Republicans Victor Crist and Sandra Murman, and Democrat Lesley “Les” Miller Jr., were sworn in after winning their respective seats in the Nov. 2 elections.

Crist won his seat unopposed, while Murman defeated former Tampa City Council member John Dingfelder. Miller unseated incumbent Kevin White in the Democratic primary.

The new faces join a board recently dogged by scandal and controversy that governs the state’s fourth-largest county.

You May Also Like