Table of Contents
Did you know that about 40% of American households own a gun?
Your right as a Floridian to carry a firearm for self-defense is part of the American way. A concealed carry permit allows you to take charge of your liberty and stand your ground against a possible threat.
If you’re considering applying for a concealed weapon license, it pays to read up on the relevant Florida gun laws. Fortunately, we’ve done some of the legwork for you.
Read on and learn how to get a concealed carry permit in Florida.
Why Get a Concealed Weapon License?
As a US citizen, the Second Amendment guarantees you the right to keep and bear arms. As a citizen, it is your responsibility to exercise these rights and preserve them for future generations.
Carrying a concealed firearm ensures that you are be prepared to deal with any potentially dangerous scenarios. This sense of security is vital when you are caring for a family.
Furthermore, some of us lack the physical strength to defend ourselves against violence. Age, disease, disability, and a variety of other problems can all prevent you from protecting yourself. Having a concealed firearm for self-defense makes total sense.
Applying For a Concealed Carry Permit
The first step to getting a concealed carry permit in Florida is to apply online. You could also apply in person at FDACS Regional Office. Follow our step by step guide to getting a license here:
Florida law requires you to submit proof of competency with a firearm. Complete any mandatory firearms training with an approved course provider.
Gather all relevant documents before you make your application. You will need your firearms training certificate and passport photo from the last 30 days.
Fill out and submit your application. The processing fee for a concealed carry permit is $97.
Concealed weapons license owners need to supply fingerprints to register. You can do this in person or with your local law enforcement agency within 90 days.
Await approval for your application via mail. This can take up to 50 days.
Florida Gun Laws Explained
Only certain citizens are eligible to receive a concealed weapons license. Applicants must:
- Be at least 21 years old
- Hold full US citizenship
- Have no barring convictions
- Not have been committed to a mental institution
- Demonstrate competence with a firearm
- Be physically able to handle a firearm
- Not suffer from drug or alcohol addiction
These rules are in place to ensure the safety of the public. Visit Concealed Coalition today for more information on the requirements and process behind getting a concealed carry permit.
Concealed Carry in Florida: What You Need To Know
So, that’s the 101 on how to get a concealed carry permit in Florida.
You have the right to defend yourself and your family. A concealed weapon license affords you this right no matter where you are.
Did you find this article helpful? If so, be sure to check out the rest of our blog for everything you need to know about guns, entertainment, business, and more.