Florida had to settle the date for the state’s 2012 presidential primary by Oct. 1, and the committee chosen to make the decision announced its conclusion today.

The Miami Herald reports that:

Florida agreed to withstand party penalties and formally shook up the primary calendar Friday, officially setting Florida’s presidential primary date for Jan. 31.

The 7-2 vote from the Presidential Preference Primary Committee rejected a Democratic motion to set the date for Super Tuesday, March 6, and accepted a plan to make Florida’s primary on the last Tuesday in January. The committee is comprised of six Republicans and three Democrats.

According to the St. Petersburg Times, the members of the committee selected in mid-September and tasked with selecting the date for the state’s presidential primary are:

Republicans: Jenn Ungru, former Gov. Bob Marinez, Sens. John Thrasher of St. Augustine and Rene Garcia of Hialeah, and Reps. Carlos Lopez Cantera of Miami and Seth McKeel of Lakeland.

Democrats: Sen. Gary Siplin of Orlando, former Sen. Al Lawson and state Rep. Cynthia Stafford of Miami.

Gov. Rick Scott, House Speaker Dean Cannon and Senate President Mike Haridopolos chose the members of the primary committee.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like

Gaetz: Charlotte County concerns prompted shift in Florida Senate’s District 13 map

The Florida Senate redistricting committee has released a revamped draft of how it proposes to redraw Florida's congressional lines. The new map shows a big shift in the district of Rep. Vern Buchanan — a shift that came about because of urgings from Charlotte County residents to lump them in with other coastal residents, according to committee chairman Don Gaetz.