With the Hillsborough County Commission dogged by controversy for much of the last year, some new faces will take part in voting next week for the board’s leadership moving forward.

On Tuesday, the commission will hold an organizational meeting at which votes will take place for chairman, vice-chairman, and chaplain.

Three new commissioners were elected on Nov. 2, bringing change to the board that saw two of its former members come under fire amid scandal and the controversial firing of the county’s administrator.

Former Commissioner and current state Sen.-elect Jim Norman, R-Tampa, came under scrutiny amid revelations his wife bought a home using a $500,000 gift from a Tampa businessman who regularly appeared before the board in years past.

Norman was elected to the Senate after being tossed off the ballot by a circuit judge who said he failed to disclose the gift, then reinstated by an appeals court. Incumbent Hillsborough Commissioner Ken Hagan took Norman’s seat on the board after defeating former Tampa City Councilwoman Linda Saul-Sena.

The commission also said goodbye to Kevin White, who lost reelection in the Democratic primary for his seat to former state Sen. Les Miller. White had long been dogged by a civil jury verdict which found he made unwanted sexual advances against an employee. White was sued by his own commission — trying to recover legal fees incurred by the county in the case.

Two new commissioners also won in the Nov. 2 election, taking open seats. Republican State Sen. Victor Crist easily won victory unopposed, while former Republican state Rep. Sandra Murman beat former Tampa City Councilman John Dingfelder.

You May Also Like