Demon Slayer is one of the most well-known anime and manga franchises in the world right now. When Nichirin Blades are originally drawn by their owner in this anime series, they take on a distinct color.

A blade can come in a variety of colors, each of which adds a particular quality to the blade and makes it one-of-a-kind. Let’s find out what the different colors on the Nichirin swords mean!

Black Nichirin Sword

Black Nichirin Sword

The main character of Demon Slayer, Tanjiro Kamado, is the one who wields a black Nichirin Sword. However, the meaning behind a black blade is unclear because while these blades are rare, the demon slayer who wields them does not live long either. Then again, this blade could also imply that Tanjiro is fated to break this pattern.

Red Nichirin Sword

The red Nichirin sword is wielded by Kyojuro Rengoku. The crimson blade represents fire and its wielder’s charismatic and eccentric personality. Rengoku has a strong sense of duty and his desire to defeat demons burns as intensely as a raging flame.

Blue Nichirin Sword

The blue Nichirin sword represents water and is wielded by Giyu Tomioka, the Demon Slayer Corps’ Pillar of Water. Tomioka uses the blade in fluid movements, making him one of the most formidable demon slayers in the series. His beautiful Nichirin sword truly makes you want to get your own custom samurai sword blue blade.

Yellow Nichirin Sword

Yellow Nichirin Sword

The yellow Nichirin sword, one that Zenitsu Agatsuma has, represents thunder. In the series, Zenitsu seems like a boy with low self-esteem and cowardly nature. But whenever the situation calls for it, he unleashes his true powers at the speed of light. Zenitsu’s real power emerges as abruptly and explosively as thunder.

Indigo-Gray Nichirin Sword

The indigo-gray Nichirin sword is forged perfectly to defeat demons, and its color represents the beast. Its wielder is none other than Inosuke Hashibira, the boar-headed demon slayer, who wields not one but two indigo-gray blades. Inosuke gained his beast-like characteristics after spending his entire life in the mountains.

Pink Nichirin Sword

The pink Nichirin sword belongs to Mitsuri Kanroji and represents love. She is a passionate and emotional person who holds the Love Pillar in the Demon Slayer Corps.

Gray Nichirin Sword

Gyomei Himejima, the one who holds the Stone Pillar in the Demon Slayer Corps wields a Gray Nichirin Sword and it represents stone. Gyomei’s personality is reflected in the stone’s emblem, which is both powerful and solid.

Green Nichirin Sword

Green Nichirin Sword

The green Nichirin sword is wielded by Sanemi Shinazugawa, the Demon Slayer Corps’ Wind Pillar, and it represents wind. Sanemi is as fast as the wind who doesn’t mind striking swords on demons who cross his path.

White Nichirin Sword

The white Nichirin sword represents mist, and none other than Muichiro Tokito wields it, the Demon Slayer Corps’ Mist Pillar. Muichiro is an air-headed person, who is frequently caught in his own thoughts and struggles to concentrate. His aloof demeanor makes him the ideal candidate for wielding the white Nichirin sword.


Now that Demon Slayer has taken over the world by storm, it’s the best time to look into what each Nichirin sword represents in the anime. This article unveils all the secrets behind all the colored swords in the series.

You May Also Like