In advance of the state legislature’s organizational meeting and special session tomorrow, incoming state House Speaker Dean Cannon, R-Winter Park, today unveiled the names of state House committee chairs. Among them: state Rep. Will Weatherford, R-Wesley Chapel, who will head up the committee overseeing the redistricting process after the conclusion of this year’s census.

Weatherford was a vocal foe of Amendments 5 and 6, the so-called “Fair Districts” amendments that limit the legislature’s ability to gerrymander districts that passed a statewide vote on Nov. 2. He was a supporter of the group Protect Your Vote, the political action committee whose efforts to fight 5 and 6 were largely bankrolled by the Republican Party of Florida.

The Protect Your Vote website ( has been taken down, but a cached version accessed through Yahoo! Site Explorer lists Weatherford as a person “acting on behalf of the organization.” Also listed as such is state Sen. Don Gatez, R-Destin, recently appointed by Florida Senate President Mike Haridopolos, R-Merritt Island, as the chair of the committee in charge of redistricting on the Senate side of the Florida legislature.

That means that the two legislators most responsible for making sure that the legislature follows the redistricting rules laid out in Amendments 5 and 6 were both members of a group explicitly created to defeat those rules.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like

Agriculture commissioner candidate Putnam fought to block water quality rules; rival Maddox remains silent: News. Politics. Media

The race to become Florida's agriculture commissioner has received little media notice, but the winner of the campaign will play an important role in the debate over efforts to protect Florida's water quality. Neither major party candidate, though, has expressed support for the EPA's efforts to regulate the amount of waste dumped in Florida waterbodies, and one — Republican candidate Adam Putnam — has in fact led efforts to block those rules.

Report: Prescription drugs kill far more in Florida than illegal drugs, Oxycodone deaths at record high: News. Politics. Media

According to a report released Thursday by the Florida Medical Examiners Commission, 5 percent of all deaths in 2009 were attributable to prescription drug use, far outnumbering those caused by illegal substances. The report indicates the most frequently occurring drugs found in decedents were ethyl alcohol (4,046), all Benzodiazepines (3,379), Oxycodone (1,948) and cocaine (1,462). The drugs that caused the most deaths were Oxycodone, all Benzodiazepines (with Alprazolam, also known as Xanax, accounting for the majority of the deaths), methadone, ethyl alcohol, cocaine, morphine and Hydrocodone. Oxycodone, the generic version of the Purdue Pharma brand name prescription pain-killer OxyContin, was the cause of 1,185 state deaths in 2009, a 26-percent increase from the year before and a whopping 249-percent increase from 2005.