U.S. Rep. Nick Rahall, D-W.V., announced the roster of Democratic members for the subcommittees of the House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee last week, and at least one familiar face made the cut.

Rep. Corrine Brown, D-Jacksonville, was again named to the full committee on Transportation and Infrastructure, and will also work as a member of the Subcommittee on Coast Guard and Maritime Transportation. Brown has acted as a member of the Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure since coming to Congress, and was selected to chair the Transportation Subcommittee on Railroads, Pipelines and Hazardous Materials during the 110th Congress.

Though still the ranking Democrat on the subcommittee, Rep. Bill Shuster, R-Pa., will act as the new chairman of Railroads, Pipelines and Hazardous Materials.

Rep. John Mica, D-Winter Park, replaces Minnesota Democrat Jim Oberstar as chairman of the entire committee.

“We have assembled an incredible group of Democratic Members who will bring to the table extensive expertise and a solid commitment to addressing our Nation’s crumbling infrastructure,” said Rahall, in a press release. “Democrats stand ready to work with Republicans to make the necessary investments that will fuel our economy and keep America on the road to recovery. I look forward to working with Chairman John Mica and the Members of the Committee as we create jobs and get Americans back to work.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like

Tallahassee insiders align themselves with Rick Scott

On the cusp of winning the Republican nomination for governor in Florida, Rick Scott cracked a joke on primary night alluding to powerful interests in Florida that had aligned themselves with his opponent, Florida Attorney General Bill McCollum: In Tallahassee tonight, the deal-makers are crying in their cocktails. Now those deal-makers — lobbyists, legislators and party fundraisers — are quickly teaming up with Scott to raise funds for his campaign and make an about-face on the man whom they spurned, attacked and campaigned against prior to Aug. 24.

Report: Prescription drugs kill far more in Florida than illegal drugs, Oxycodone deaths at record high: News. Politics. Media

According to a report released Thursday by the Florida Medical Examiners Commission, 5 percent of all deaths in 2009 were attributable to prescription drug use, far outnumbering those caused by illegal substances. The report indicates the most frequently occurring drugs found in decedents were ethyl alcohol (4,046), all Benzodiazepines (3,379), Oxycodone (1,948) and cocaine (1,462). The drugs that caused the most deaths were Oxycodone, all Benzodiazepines (with Alprazolam, also known as Xanax, accounting for the majority of the deaths), methadone, ethyl alcohol, cocaine, morphine and Hydrocodone. Oxycodone, the generic version of the Purdue Pharma brand name prescription pain-killer OxyContin, was the cause of 1,185 state deaths in 2009, a 26-percent increase from the year before and a whopping 249-percent increase from 2005.