15 of the Best Counting Books for Children

Counting books are the perfect way to introduce young children to early math concepts while engaging their imaginations and expanding vocabulary and reading skills. It’s time to read to your child at bedtime – why not use that time to teach them something in a fun way? Electronic games are useful for teaching math to kids, but sharing counting books together is a wonderful way for kids and parents to spend time together, learning, imagining, and exploring.

Best Counting Books for Children

1. Ten Black Dots

Ten Black Dots - counting books

A wonderful counting book for home or the classroom, Ten Black Dots encourages children to use their artistic imagination while learning counting and the relationship between numbers and the world around us. Give children ten black dots of their own and let them create and discover. The rhyming is fun and the artwork is engaging. Kids will love having this book read to them, or practice reading it themselves.

2. 12 Ways to Get to 11

12 Ways to Get to 11 - counting books

12 Ways to Get to 11 is a fun and clever counting adventure! Where has the number 11 gone? An innovative and colorful book that explores 12 combinations of items that equal 11. Counting, math, and logic combine with bright colors and bold designs for counting fun that kids will want to read over and over.

3. One Is a Snail, Ten is a Crab: A Counting by Feet Book

One Is a Snail, Ten is a Crab: A Counting by Feet Book - counting books

One Is a Snail, Ten is a Crab: A Counting by Feet Book is a fun counting adventure set on the beach. “If one is a snail and two is a person, we must be counting by feet!” Lots of characters are at the beach: crabs, dogs, insects, and snails are all offering up their feet for counting. Learn about animals, insects, and counting, all in this colorfully illustrated book.

4. Quack and Count

Quack and Count - counting books

Counting books should introduce counting in a fun, easy way and Quack and Count does just that. Counting is ann unobtrusive and organic addition to the story. Kids love the collage cut-out duck illustrations and rhythmic, rhyming text. Seven ducklings are just learning to fly and their story will capture your little one’s imagination.

5. Fish Eyes: A Book You Can Count On

Fish Eyes: A Book You Can Count On - counting books

Designed for preschool through first graders, Fish Eyes: A Book You Can Count On is visually delightful and combines the concepts of numbers, shapes, colors, imagining, and addition in a thoughtful and engaging way. Reviewers compliment this book on both the prose and the artwork. This has been a favorite counting book of parents, teachers, and students for years and should continue its popularity for years to come.

6. Counting Crocodiles

Counting Crocodiles - counting books

With delightful rhymes reminiscent of Lewis Carroll and Edward Lear, Counting Crocodiles will charm children and adults alike. It has the folktale feel of older children’s books but still completely stands up in a digital, modern world. Kids will love counting the crocodiles and helping the monkey across the Sillabobble Sea.

7. Mouse Count

Mouse Count - counting books

From Ellen Stoll Walsh, the creative mind and author of the popular Mouse Paint and Mouse ShapesMouse Count is drama and suspense for the Kindergarten set. When a snake finds ten little mice and decides to make a meal out of them, the mice must outsmart the snake. Counting is cleverly introduced amidst a unique and exciting story.

8. Richard Scarry’s Best Counting Book Ever

Richard Scarry's Best Counting Book Ever - counting books

A must-have addition to any list of counting books, Richard Scarry’s Best Counting Book Ever features the popular illustrations and writing of one of the most prolific authors of children’s books. Willy Bunny is learning to count and starts by counting everyday objects around him and his friends. By the end of the book, he counts all the way to 100!

9. One Big Building: A Counting Book About Construction

One Big Building: A Counting Book About Construction - counting books

Construction, trucks, and counting come together in One Big Building: A Counting Book About Construction. Readers follow a 12 story building as it’s being built and search the illustration for hidden numbers. Children are provided with more than one way to recognize numbers; sidebars show each number as a word, a digit, and a series of dots.

10. On the Launch Pad: A Counting Book About Rockets

On the Launch Pad: A Counting Book About Rockets - counting books

Kids (and adults!) are interested in space and everything to do with space exploration, including rockets. On the Launch Pad: A Counting Book About Rockets encourages kids to countdown as the rocket prepares for lift-off. Similar to counting books like One Big Building (above), kids search the colorful illustrations to find each number on the page.

11. Tabbed Board Books: My First Numbers: Let’s Get Counting!

Tabbed Board Books: My First Numbers: Let's Get Counting! - counting books

Board books like Tabbed Board Books: My First Numbers: Let’s Get Counting! are sturdy and easy to handle – perfect for little hands to learn and explore. The pages are easy to turn, not sticky like the pages of some board books, and each page explores a different number. A fun way for little ones to start counting.

12. How Many Bugs in a Box?: A Pop-up Counting Book

How Many Bugs in a Box?: A Pop-up Counting Book - counting books

How Many Bugs in a Box?: A Pop-up Counting Book is a fun and interactive counting book that teaches counting from one to ten. Open each box and colorful bugs pop out, run, eat, and swim. A fun book that kids will want to read again and again.

13. Doggies (Boynton on Board)

Doggies (Boynton on Board) - counting books

Doggies (Boynton on Board) is a silly counting book for little dog lovers. The illustrations are described as “whimsical and hilarious” and reading requires the reader to make dog sounds themselves. It’s a really fun counting book that kids and parents will enjoy together.

14. Each Orange Had 8 Slices

Each Orange Had 8 Slices - counting books

Featuring the award winning illustrations of David Crews, Each Orange Had 8 Slices introduces counting and early math concepts. Kindergarteners to third graders will enjoy the vibrant artwork and easy, fun mathematics.

15. Thomas’ 123 Book

Thomas' 123 Book - counting books

Thomas’ 123 Book is THE counting book for fans of Thomas and Friends and any train obsessed boys and girls. Kids will be delighted to see their favorite characters as they practice their counting skills.

Counting books for children encourage basic math skills as well as language and vocabulary skills. Share your favorite counting books in the comments below!

 

Feature image courtesy of Flickr, topgold.

1 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like